• Upcoming Events


    GPTQ Preconstruction Design Awards


    • 2018-GPTQ-Grand-Prize-Award-Winner.jpg

    Congratulations to all the Winners of the 2018 GPTQ Preconstruction Design Awards!


    Parsons Transportation Group received the Grand Prize Award for its work on the Northwest Corridor Express Lanes project. The completed Northwest Corridor represents the first GDOT project to be procured as a design-build-finance project, and its successful delivery makes it the largest transportation project in the state's history. This massive project, which involved nearly 30 miles of roadway, including three intersecting interstate highways and 39 bridges, required countless innovations, accommodations and considerations. During the course of the project, the Parsons team worked to develop numerous solutions to address impacts to the traveling public and environmentally sensitive wetlands, as well as mitigate any potentially negative effects to duration and cost of construction.


    Winners were also recognized across nine different categories:


    • Atkins, Member of the SNC-Lavalin Group - Statewide Mainline Weight-in-Motion
      Category 1 Winner: Innovative Solutions to a Design Problem/Best Use of New Products


    • Moffatt & Nichol - Appalachian Regional Port
      Category 2 Winner: Planning and Design of an Alternative Mode Transportation Facility


    • HNTB - Memorandum of Understanding - Defining the Area of Potential Effect for MMIP
      Category 3 Winner: NEPA, Environmental Protection, Preservation, Restoration and/or Enhancement


    • Aracadis, U.S., Inc. - Concord Road Covered Bridge Rehabilitation
      Category 4 Winner: Context Sensitive Planning and Design including Public Participation Plan


    • Michael Baker International - Islands Expressway Bridge Replacement
      Category 5 Winner: Bridge and/or Structural Design


    • Arcadis, U.S., Inc. - South Barrett Reliever Roundabout
      Category 6 Winner: Traffic Safety and/or Intersection Design


    • Heath & Lineback Engineers, Inc. - Interstate North Parkway and Interstate North Circle Roadway and Pedestrian Improvements
      Category 7 Winner: Highway Design - Urban


    • AECOM Technical Services, Inc. - State Route 10/Gordon Highway Widening and Improvements
      Category 8 Winner: Highway Design - Rural


    • Michael Baker International - Courtland Street Bridge Replacement
      Category 9 Winner: Design-Build


    The GPTQ Preconstruction Design Awards will open again for nominations in Spring 2019.